Posted by: odzer | April 5, 2008

The Golden Shower Tree

Two days ago it was very cloudy and I thought that it would rain so I decided to go towards the north of the city in Sector 10. At the Leisure Valley near the secretariat of the Punjab Government is a road that leads towards the high court as well as cuts in to Madhya Marg. Here there are many Amaltas or Golden shower (Cassia fistula ) trees. I had mistaken them for Ipé trees earlier. I thought it was best to capture their beautiful yellow blooms before the wind and the rain destroyed them. By the way these Amaltas blooms also happen to be the Thai national flower so I am sure that all the Thai people in Chandigarh might feel really nostalgic about them. As I had thought the weather turned really bad and they are all gone now I suppose. However for the moment they can bloom on my blog. I also found some really nice Bougainvillea (Bougainvillea glabra) shrubs along the road side.

Leave a Reply

Categories

